Polar Bear, Stuttgart Zoo

Sleeping Bear

A mini-guest blog, by the inestimable Shaw Tesla:

“I am a progressive.

My choice has been to do my homework. Apply my critical thinking skills. Make decisions based on evidence and intelligent debate. I know that establishment politics and establishment economics doesn’t work. I know that centrism, i.e., deep economic injustice under the skin of social justice doesn’t work because social justice and economic justice can’t exist without each other. I know that giving huge tax breaks and subsidies to corporations when there are so many unmet basic needs for Americans, doesn’t work.

Like most Americans, I want clean air to breathe, clean water to drink, a good job, universal healthcare, spiritual freedom, and affordable education.

I thought that wasn’t too much to ask. Common sense legislation.
But instead….

I have watched the fires of division grow
And I don’t like it.

I have watched rise of fascism on the backdrop of deep economic injustice by corporate centrism
And I don’t like it.

I have watched my planet become increasingly trampled upon
And I don’t like it.

I have watched as the Golden Rule has been dismissed
And I don’t like it.

So to those who would trash my planet, disrespect my fellow human beings, and erode the principles upon which my country was founded:
Know this
You have woken a sleeping bear
And I am putting you on notice.”

Buy my books.  Please.

Alternative Truths, 24 political satire stories, including my “As Prophesied of Old”

R is for Renaissance Faire, my children’s book

Knee-High Drummond and the Durango Kid, an e-book of western short stories

Sword & Sorceress #30, a collection of feminist fantasy, including my “The Piper’s Wife”

Barbarian Crowns, a collection of fantasy stories in the style of Robert E. Howard, including my “Vixen’s Song” and “Two Princes”

Supernatural Colorado, a collection of horror and fantasy, including my “Thank You, Thad”

Coming soon!  Heroic Fantasy, including my “Erazabet and the Gladiators,” to be released in July.

Coming soon!  Bumples.com children’s e-magazine, with my story “Long Neck and Freckles.

Leave a Reply

